Inspired by ______, The Daily Post

The Road Calls

Monument ValleyHave you ever just wanted to drive? Just get in the car and keep going until you were so tired you had to stop? That was always a pull in the back of my heart. I could be headed to the grocery store and suddenly the road just stretched out before me, inviting and exciting, begging me to follow it. I never could because I had a family. I never could but I never stopped dreaming.

The older we got the more my husband and I talked about just going. We talked about buying a camper and hitting the road. No plan, no destination, just road. We’d stay at Wal-marts and rest areas. We’d see the country. This was our dream and we planned to live it.

Our plan was to wait until the children were grown. We’d save up money and retire as full time RVers. We’d just drive!

Now we are living that dream, sort of. It didn’t happen the way we planned it. It didn’t happen with money we’d saved or even after all the kids were grown. My husband’s health took a very severe turn and we lost everything. We lost our house, our business, our cars and everything. We took what little we had left and bought our first camper. We looked at each other and said “I guess we are just supposed to do this early.”

We had very little income from my disability and no idea where we were headed. We had one child still under 18 but being home schooled. We didn’t have a lot but we had our little family, a roof over our head, and wheels to hit the road. So we hit the road.

Today it is 7 years later and we are still living as Full Time RVers. We haven’t lived the “dream” but we still get to just drive when that urge hits. We’ve met some amazing people and seen so many new places. We discovered parts of ourselves that we didn’t really know existed. We’ve become closer than I thought possible. Our home is a 36′ travel trailer that follows us wherever our hearts desire to go.

Did you ever just get the urge to drive? I did.

_____________________________

This was inspired by The Daily Prompt  & Reflecting on my Magic Kingdom Internship

 

About Tracy Seekins

Long time writer/blogger. Has been on a lifelong journey for self enrichment. This is a journey which never ends and I look forward to sharing it with you.

Leave a comment

Archives

Categories