Just Me

Would I Be My Friend

13103So some of you may know, and others probably don’t, that my favorite book is The Celestine Prophecy: An Adventure by James Redfield. Recently I joined a Facebook discussion group about The Celestine Prophecy, the full Celestine Series. On that page someone posted a quote that had made them think about one of the concepts within the book. The quote got me thinking and I thought it something I’d like to share.

The quote says:

“If you met your exact self as another person, would you like them? Would they be a good friend? Would they seem kind, generous and loving? Would they have time and patience, and invest in your friendship? Would you feel good in their presence? Would they make you laugh? Would you truly want to spend time with them? Would they be a good influence? Remember, no one on earth spends more time with you, than — you. Be a good friend to yourself. The best way to be a good friend to yourself is to be a good person. Be the kind of person you wish you had in your life, because who you are, is exactly who you’ve got.” — Bryant McGill

008This really got me thinking. Would I want to be friends with ME? Am I someone that I would get annoyed with or roll my eyes at?

I said yes to most of the questions and was quite happy with myself as a friend until it got to the part that says “Remember, no one on earth spends more time with you, than YOU.” For some reason that gave me pause.

I know there are still things within myself that I need to work on. This quote helped me to think of some of them as I sat and thought about what kind of friend I would be and what I do that might annoy or upset me.

I look at this as another gift, another tool to working on the person that I am so that I can become that person I want to be. That begins with being honest with myself and recognizing things that might need a second look.

Really take a look at this quote. Are there things about yourself that would drive you crazy if they were in another person? Would you want to be friends with you?

The truth of the matter is we have to love ourselves before we can truly accept and believe the love that comes from others. We have to love ourselves to allow true happiness within because we do spend most of our time with this person we are right now.

And remember there is always choice and every day is an opportunity to change. If there are things that you recognize that need change, there is time. The time is today, right now.

About Tracy Seekins

Long time writer/blogger. Has been on a lifelong journey for self enrichment. This is a journey which never ends and I look forward to sharing it with you.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Archives

Categories

