Inspirations

What’s Stopping You?

Today is the day! Now is the time! What is it you’ve been wanting to do? What is stopping you? Why are you waiting?

485194245_74eb620e46_zToday I met a man who lives in Illinois. He has a successful business repairing RVs, which is saying something for a man who lives in a state that has no real RVer business for 5 – 6 months out of the year. He’s thinking about doing a “snowbird business”, basically meaning he would move part of his business south for the winter. His son or wife would stay and maintain the business in Illinois and he would be here in Florida running a mobile repair service.

I said, “What are you waiting for?”. I told him that life is short. He said “it’s like standing on the edge of a cliff, looking down at the water but you don’t know how deep the water is at the bottom”, and I said “sometimes you just have to jump”. We talked about worst case scenarios and best case scenarios, but the truth is life is usually not worst or best but somewhere in between.

My husband and I are talking about things we want to do in the coming years. We have talked about traveling some more but keeping the spot we are in as a ‘home base’. We’ve talked about going to Ecuador and Peru. Sure we are planning and making sure we have the means to travel and support our needs, but that doesn’t mean it’s not a risk. A lot of people wouldn’t dare go for a trip out of the country for 3 months, which is what we are discussing. I say life is an adventure, you may as well enjoy it.

My youngest son just got hired for his first job. He is 21 and has his whole life in front of him. He isn’t married, has no kids, and can do almost anything right now. We talked tonight about savings accounts and paying bills. These are important things and lessons one must learn, but I hope that he’s also learned from my example that it’s ok to drive 1100 miles across the country to help a friend. It’s ok crave a new adventure and just go out and LIVE it.

What’s stopping you today? Life is so short, LIVE! What is your dream? Is it time to make it a reality? Life goes by in a flash and every moment you aren’t living your dreams, every moment you postpone trying, every excuse you make and wait, it’s a moment you can’t get back! Every moment you waste is one you won’t have again.

Infinity-Time1I spent my whole life dreaming. Then one day I woke up and realize that’s ALL I was doing, dreaming. I wasn’t planning. I wasn’t heading toward a goal that would make my dreams a reality. I wasn’t living or enjoying the day I was in. I was just dreaming!

Now I know that those dreams CAN be real. I know it’s important to enjoy the simple moments. I know that the only one that can make my dreams happen is me, and the only one stopping me is also ME. I know that every day is a gift and every moment is special. So no more. I have given up the fear. I have given up the excuses. I know that life is too short and it is not just my right to live it but it is my responsibility to live it to the fullest.

So now, I appreciate every moment I am given. I remember to be grateful even in the most difficult moments. I plan for a future that isn’t too far away and I take opportunity when it comes. No more fear, no more excuses, just living in a today I happy to be in and dreaming toward a future I’m proud to be creating.

About Tracy Seekins

Long time writer/blogger. Has been on a lifelong journey for self enrichment. This is a journey which never ends and I look forward to sharing it with you.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Archives

Categories

