Fiction Stories

Listening to the Rain – A Fictional Story

rain fallingI love these nights. These incredible deep dark nights, when I wake up in the pitch black and all I can hear is the rain on the tin roof of my little camper. For a moment I forget where I am. For a moment I am alone in the universe.

And then reality comes back. I really am alone but only within this camper. Outside there is are so many others like me. Survivors. Running and hiding amidst the trees, out in the woods. Taking back roads and making temporary camps where we can for as long as it’s safe, but eventually we always have to move on.

Unlike those who still believe that the government will recover, living in FEMA camps and being herded by one military or another, we hold no such delusions. We saw this coming. We tried to tell others but they wouldn’t listen, either out of blind faith in a system that was blatantly failing or because they’d already given up. We weren’t giving up and we had no such faith, so we planned.

We gathered our supplies for months before the day. We sent secret messages on Craigslist, Ebay, and other such sites. Then finally the day came. Wall Street crashed, the internet was taken down, and we knew. We were ready. And we ran.

At first nobody noticed us, being far too preoccupied with their own troubles. There were riots and other nonsense to keep the police busy. Then came martial law and the military. This made movement more difficult, but by then we were already back into the woods. We traveled in small groups, on back roads, and always set up camp deep into the woods where prying eyes were less likely to see us.

GrimmNow the military has split into three groups and two have taken on civilian mercenaries. Being caught by two out of the three military groups is likely to get you tossed into a FEMA camp or refugee camp as one group calls it. Being caught by the third military group often gets one killed on sight or killed as an example.

So I am alone within this little camper, within my own little world, but no I am not alone in the universe. Except for tonight, as I lay here listening to droplets of rain as they hit the tin all around me. Tonight I am alone in the universe, as the rain drowns out the chaos of the world. No sound dare to break this barrier, no soul can cross. And so for now I am alone and all is well.

About Tracy Seekins

Long time writer/blogger. Has been on a lifelong journey for self enrichment. This is a journey which never ends and I look forward to sharing it with you.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Archives

Categories

