Just Me

Being Realistic

seeing with heartSometimes I worry about my own lack of a sense of people. I used to irritate my mother and over the years even my husband with my optimistic, see the good in everyone, view of people.

Over the years it’s gotten me into trouble more than once but I stubbornly refused to let it go. I kept swearing that the way a few people acted would not change who I was and I saw my ability to see the good in people as a part of who I was.

The older I get the more I realize that this is not realistic, it’s not good for me, and I may need to rethink my personal views of people and the world in general.

I cannot continue to see only the good and completely ignore what is right in front of my eyes in order to hang on to hope for a person who may not be capable of being who my mind’s eye wants to see.

They say with age comes wisdom. Over the years I have learned many lessons. Some I accepted readily, others I fought kicking and screaming. This one has always been one of my hardest struggles. Somehow letting go of this belief that each person I meet will somehow magically be kind and trustworthy is very difficult to let go of, even though I realize the dangers of this belief.

I have learned to be more careful with my words and with whom I share my thoughts and feelings. I have learned to be more careful in my conversations. But somewhere in my heart I still hold hope that those I choose to converse with will be trustworthy, kind, compassionate, open-minded, and who knows what else.

Of course the reality I am coming to accept is that those people are truly unique in this world. They are the few rather than the many. And though I still believe that every person is capable of these things and everyone has it in them, for some it is DEEP within.

I guess in the grand scheme of things I simply need to remember to accept people for who they ARE, not who I hope or believe them to be. This doesn’t change my appreciation of them. In a way it deepens my appreciation of them because I am seeing THEM, not my idealized version of them.

About Tracy Seekins

Long time writer/blogger. Has been on a lifelong journey for self enrichment. This is a journey which never ends and I look forward to sharing it with you.

Discussion

One thought on “Being Realistic

  1. It’s a hard lesson to learn when we realize that trust and kindness are all too often rare qualities in people we meet. Wishing you peaceful days.

    Posted by miragreen | June 8, 2014, 5:05 am

Leave a Reply

Archives

Categories

