Unusual Stuff

Appointment Time

clockHave you ever noticed how we will drop everything to keep an appointment scheduled between 9 am and 2 pm by the phone, cable or other company that comes to your home?

I want to do that with my doctor appointments and other things I go to. I want to say, I’ll be there between Noon and 4 pm and have them be ready to put everything else aside the moment I arrive. It’s of course utter foolishness.

If you can’t tell I’m sitting here waiting for someone to arrive. An appointment scheduled by this company/person for between 9 am and Noon. Here is it 11:53 am and NO phone call and NO sign of them. I’ve spent the whole morning not wanting to ‘get involved’ in anything because I knew the moment I did the call or knock would come.

So I’ve sat for hours doing essentially nothing, getting small things accomplished with occasional glance at the door or phone. Sat here waiting with no word as to whether this person even remembers me. I’d call it rude but it’s become the norm with appointments that companies make to come to your home. Maybe it is still rude, but we’ve come to accept it so much that most don’t realize how rude it is. I don’t know.

All I know is it’s 3 minutes till Noon and no sign of him, which probably means I’ll have to do this another day because soon he’ll call to reschedule. Oh joy.

If you haven’t realized it yet, I’m TERRIBLE at waiting. ~She says as she keeps glancing at the door. As if looking at the door will make the knock magically arrive. She says as she glances at dishes that need doing and food that needs cooking and legs that (embarrassingly) need shaving, but doesn’t dare to get involved in case this person is just a few minutes late~

I wonder if I’m just odd. I wonder if others go about their business and just drop everything when the knock comes. Am I just really bad at waiting?

About Tracy Seekins

Long time writer/blogger. Has been on a lifelong journey for self enrichment. This is a journey which never ends and I look forward to sharing it with you.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Archives

Categories

