Helping Hands

Paying it Forward

1961602_10152218237925902_1599151071_n

David Monthony

When our daughter passed back in 2000, we were devastated emotionally, spiritually and financially. Had it not been for the kindness of friends, family, and amazing community members who we didn’t even know, the financial burden this would have placed on our already emotionally broken family would have been too great.

Our family has never forgotten those kindnesses and we try to honor that with supporting real people who are in need. We have done volunteer work, donated to local charities or people in need, gone to fund raising dinners and often I’ll help by promoting a charity or cause.

Today I come to you with sadness in my heart. March 1, 2014 David Monthony passed from this world. He was 65 years old and the father of my best friend.

ruth

My Best friend Ruth

Oddly my best friend is only 20 years old. She is so mature beyond her years that I often forget she is the same age as my son. She is so young to be burying her father and she is devastated beyond words.

This is one of the strongest, most resourceful and independent young ladies I have had the privilege to know. She works hard and is building a life that I know her father is already proud of.

However the financial burden that this is placing in her lap is out of her reach. She thought her father had life insurance, but it turns out he did not. So now all the financial burden and stress is squarely on this young ladies shoulders. Even keeping everything to a bare minimum with no frills, the cost of laying her father to rest is simply enormous.

When a family member passes our hearts shatter, our minds overload, our spirits ache and these days it can also put us into financial distress or even ruin to simply lay our loved one to rest. I am so grateful to those who kept this worry from me by donating and helping at that time. I hope my best friend Ruth can find the same kindnesses and blessings in her time of grief.

I ask only that you go and look at the page we have set up for fundraising. Donate if you can, every single $1 helps and share this with your social networks or blog followers if you feel so moved.

button-donate

About Tracy Seekins

Long time writer/blogger. Has been on a lifelong journey for self enrichment. This is a journey which never ends and I look forward to sharing it with you.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Archives

Categories

