Poetry

Just Be You

be you

Back then I tried so hard to be what others wanted me to be.
It was never enough for anyone including me.
I wanted acceptance and love
And in the wanting found depression and pain
I didn’t understand that I was fine as I was
I didn’t understand that you just needed me to be like you
So that you could be ok too
I thought I was broken
Then one day I freed myself from expectations
I allowed myself to explore who I really was
Then I became ME and it was wonderful
I found love and acceptance
It was within me all the time
And it was around me all the time
I became content and happy
Releasing the depression of anxiety
Releasing the need to make others happy
While I suffered, not so much in silence.
And now I am ME, and you seem to like it.
Not that it matters what you like because
I am happy and I love who I am.
All I can hope is that you love who you are now too.

 

About Tracy Seekins

Long time writer/blogger. Has been on a lifelong journey for self enrichment. This is a journey which never ends and I look forward to sharing it with you.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Archives

Categories

