Inspired by ______, The Daily Post

What Do You See

Look in the mirror. Does the person you see match the person you feel like on the inside? How much stock do you put in appearances?
– The Daily Post

008This was the question posed in another blog earlier and I find it quite interesting. When I look in the mirror does the person I see match how I feel on the inside? I never really thought about it. I don’t put a lot of “stock” in appearances. When I look at people in general I don’t really see that outward appearance. Of course I do see it, my eyes aren’t broken, I’m not blind, and I’m not delusional (usually). I even acknowledge it by complimenting that person on something they’re wearing, their hair, or some other outward sign that I’ve paid attention and I notice. However, it doesn’t take long before I couldn’t tell you what that person “looks” like because I begin to see the personality more than the appearance.

My best friend, where I’m living right now, is much older than me. She is always complaining about how gray her hair is getting, at least until she gets it colored. I’ve never noticed. She had to show me before I even realized she was somewhat correct, though it is not nearly as gray as she believes it is. I don’t see the lines on her face, unless I stop and really focus on them. I see her as younger than she is because her spirit and energy is lively, fun and youngish.

So do I see my lines and gray? Yes, but they aren’t my focus. I’m terribly thin and have trouble gaining weight. I’ve even lost some weight recently, which was not intentional. Do I see the skin and bones? Do I see how frail I look? Sometimes, but more often I see the smile on my face and the laugh lines around my eyes. I see a person who wants to be accepted and truly loves others. I see a strong woman who has been through a LOT in her life but keeps moving forward.

So yes, the person I see matches who I am on the inside. Does the person others see match that? If they are truly looking it will but often people only look at the outer appearance and if that’s all they look at they’ll never see ME.

About Tracy Seekins

Long time writer/blogger. Has been on a lifelong journey for self enrichment. This is a journey which never ends and I look forward to sharing it with you.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Archives

Categories

