Random Questions, Unusual Stuff

Is It Really That Big?

worryLast year what were you thinking about at this very moment? Do you know? What were you worrying about 1 year ago this second? Now, what were you worrying about 3 years ago this very second? Most of you won’t be able to tell me the answer.

One year from now, will what you are worrying about right now still be relevant to you? Do you want it to be?

What mattered to you 5 years ago that still matters to you right now? Will that matter in 5 more years?

For me these are simple answers. I have no idea what I was worrying about a year ago or 3 years ago at this very second. As for right now, I have no major worries.

What mattered to me 5 years ago that matters now and will still matter in 5 years? My family. They bring me worry, joy, axiety, love, smiles, frowns, and everything in between. They are what matters in the before, in the today and in the forever after.

So why did I ask these questions? To make you think.

Very few people know what they were worrying about a year ago and very few will remember in a year what they were worried about today. Of course major life crisis or situations might stick in ones mind, but for most of us the answer is “Who knows”.

I have had many wise folks tell me “If it won’t matter in 3 years time then stop fretting over it now.” I think this is great advice. Now realistically I understand that I’m going to get anxious and worried over little things that won’t matter in 3 years time, but the point isn’t to avoid the emotions, it is not to get stuck in them or sick from them.

Remind yourself that the situation isn’t as big as your reaction may be. Take a deep breath and move through it. Remember that there is an end to it and a new path on the other side.

About Tracy Seekins

Long time writer/blogger. Has been on a lifelong journey for self enrichment. This is a journey which never ends and I look forward to sharing it with you.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Archives

Categories

