Happiness, Self Improvement

Changing Our Vocabulary

workinprogressInstead of saying “There will never be anything good in my hopeless, miserable life”, you could say “Right now my life feels empty”. If you are really brave you could try “Right now my life feels empty, but I’m seeking to create a change.”

Instead of saying “I’m fat and useless”, you could try “I’m overweight and looking for purpose in my life.”

Instead of saying “I’m so stupid, why did I do that?”, you could try “Well that was silly of me.”

Instead of saying “I have a miserable life.”, You might try “I’m really unhappy right now.”

Each of these changes are saying basically the same thing, but they take the forever aspect out of them. They stop these words from defining your life, your forever, and put the feeling into the right now, which is where it exists.

Often times we will talk as if a difficulty or struggle is forever, when it is only temporary. Really very little is FOREVER. Most situations, emotions, struggles last only a short period of time in the grand scheme of things. It wasn’t always, isn’t forever, and probably won’t be never.

This is not just about changing our thoughts, it’s about changing the way we use our words in everyday life.

There are many more words to change in our personal vocabulary and in our inner self dialogue. I have only scratched the surface here. Listen to the way you talk to yourself or about yourself and your life. Listen to the way your words create sentences. Do your words inspire the best in yourself and others?

What sentence have you spoken to yourself or others today that you can change? What word can you decide not to use just for today? Take that first step.

changevocab2

About Tracy Seekins

Long time writer/blogger. Has been on a lifelong journey for self enrichment. This is a journey which never ends and I look forward to sharing it with you.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Archives

Categories

