Inspired by ______, Just Me

Quitting Smoking

cigarette-image-1I’m working on quitting smoking. I’ve done it before but it seems harder this time. I know this will be the time I never go back. Why? Because I have never before thought of it the way I am now.

It’s been three days since my last cigarette. I’m antsy and irritable. I’m fighting a headache that is tapping at the back of my neck. I never before thought of smoking as a drug, but that’s what it is. It is a drug that has a strong hold on me.

I never realized how strong its influence on my body was. I knew I craved cigarettes. I thought I smoked because I wanted to, when I wanted to, but reality has really hit me this go round. This is an addiction. Granted it’s an addiction that I don’t have strong opinions about. Smoke if you want, don’t if you want. What I don’t like is the fact that it has such a strong hold on me, such a control over my emotions and actions.

2014 is my year of changes for certain, but it’s also my year of clarity. I’m seeing things very differently than I have in the past. My perspective is ever changing, not just about smoking but about so many things.

This post is about my perspective on a drug that has control over me. Tobacco! I never thought about it as controlling me, but it has. These past three days my whole being has been out of balance, but I’ll find my balance again and it will be because of ME, not because of something I am putting into me.

___________________________

Daily Prompt: Happy Endings

About Tracy Seekins

Long time writer/blogger. Has been on a lifelong journey for self enrichment. This is a journey which never ends and I look forward to sharing it with you.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Quitting Smoking

  1. Good luck! I hope you break that hold!

    Posted by Chatter Master | February 3, 2014, 10:18 am

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: Tips for those who decided to quit | True Sight - February 4, 2014

Leave a Reply

Archives

Categories

