Just Me, Self Improvement

Give Because It’s the Right Thing to Do

giving

Lately I’ve been really thinking about all the changes we are making and the positive path we’ve undertaken. I’ve also been thinking a lot about other people who are in need as much or more-so than we are.

It used to be my dream to open up a shelter or a soup kitchen or some other type of place where people could receive the much needed help they deserved. Sadly, I’ve never had the financial ability to do this.

I have given freely of my time to others. I have opened my home to people who needed a place to stay. We even had people live with us in our 36 foot camper. It was cramped, but it was wonderful for all of us. I have loaned or given money. I have given food to someone in need. We have bought presents for children because the family was in a difficult time. We have dropped our plans and changed our lives to go help a friend in need.

No Regrets

I don’t regret any of those things. Okay, well, there may have been some real challenges with a few people who have lived with us over the years, but I don’t regret being who I am and helping when I could. I don’t regret my children being raised with a sense of doing what is right, even when it’s not easy.

However, even though I don’t regret these choices, I know that many times it has put us in a financial hardship. I know that many times I’ve done more than I should have because I began to feel responsible for people other than myself. My heart was in the right place but I often didn’t listen to my head once my heart stepped in.

Today’s Blessing

Today I was blessed enough to be able to give something to someone who had a need I COULD fulfill. It brought me great joy. This person is someone I often do not get along with and I’m fairly certain she has almost no use for me, but she accepted my help gracefully. She took my gift in the manner with which it was given, with an open heart. And what she may not realize is what it gave back to me was more than anything one could imagine.

The gift one receives when giving openly from the heart is greater than anything I can explain in words.

Give because it’s the right thing to do!

Are you giving within your community? To your neighbors? Have you given to someone you know dislikes you but you did it just because it was the right thing to do? Tell me about your giving.

About Tracy Seekins

Long time writer/blogger. Has been on a lifelong journey for self enrichment. This is a journey which never ends and I look forward to sharing it with you.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Archives

Categories

