Self Improvement

Listening Month

Listening

I think I’m going to make February my personal “Listening Month”. I feel like I have forgotten how to be a good listener. I give myself a ton of reasons (translate that into excuses) why I do it:

  1. I’m bored.
  2. I don’t get someone to talk to often.
  3. I’m coming out of a depression

and the list goes on. But none of them are GOOD reasons not to be listening.

I tend to forget things easily anyway due to my Fibromyalgia and the lovely brain fog that comes with it, but if I listened better that could change some.

I catch myself thinking of what I’m going to say next long before the other person is done speaking, or worse yet interrupting. That’s always been my worst pet peeve, people who interrupt and now I see myself doing it, yet for some reason I don’t stop myself.

Listening is showing someone you care, showing respect for another, showing another what they say matters to you. I’ve always said I cannot expect others to act in ways that I do not. If I’m not listening then I cannot have the expectation that they will want to listen when I speak. And real communication is about each person listening to the other.

So I think I’m making February my listening month. I’m going to bite my tongue and work on quieting my mind and really listen.

What do you feel like you need to work on in your life? What could/should you be doing more of or doing better? Will you make February your ___________ month and work on something as well?

About Tracy Seekins

Long time writer/blogger. Has been on a lifelong journey for self enrichment. This is a journey which never ends and I look forward to sharing it with you.

Discussion

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: The Gift of Listening | Brain Sweets - February 6, 2014

Leave a Reply

Archives

Categories

